Architect Certification

A blended approach consisting of self-study material, online examinations, an intensive bootcamp, and practical design tasks, this comprehensive program is designed to provide candidates a learning path to demonstrate proficiency as an EIS Suite Certified System Architect.

Learning Path

Step 1: Prerequisites

Skills and Experience Required

Participation in the EIS Suite™ Architect Certification requires the below prerequisite skills and experience.

  • Four year degree in computer science or related field (or equivalent experience)
  • Practical experience with Java
  • Experience with the Spring Framework
  • Prior EIS project experience is recommended
  • Previous work experience with large scale applications
  • Understanding quality requirements for architecture
  • Architect experience in designing features

Complete Self-directed EIS University Courses

Prior to taking the Entry Exam, qualified candidates must complete these prerequisite self-study courses within EIS University. The expected duration of each course is listed below.

  • EIS Suite Fundamentals (3 hours)
  • EIS CoreVelocity™ Fundamentals (1.5 hours)
  • EIS Architecture Fundamentals (4 hours)
  • EIS Development Methodology Fundamentals (4 hours)


Step 2: Entry Exam

After taking prerequisite courses, participants then complete the Certification Entry Exam. This online entry exam assesses the candidates’ knowledge and understanding of a variety of topics, including code level design patterns, english language skills, enterprise application integration and architecture, estimation, open source frameworks, databases, java enterprise edition, JSP, maven, mercurial, code reviews, high-level and low-level design, software development lifecycles, problem solving, spring, scrum methodology, UML, object-oriented programming, and xml/SOAP.

Step 3: Virtual Bootcamp

After the successful completion of all prerequisites, candidates will then attend an EIS Suite Architect Bootcamp. This is a two-week virtual, conference-style event in which EIS Group lead architects will share their knowledge and lead hands-on exercises for the certification candidates. It consists of a daily presentation from an architect (3 hours), presentations from participants and Q&A from the previous day’s topics (1 hour), and free time to work on hands-on tasks to present on the following day.

Topics will include the principal domains of EIS Suite, design document guidelines, and practical tips and tricks useful for the architect’s role:

  • Architecture Overview
  • EIS Suite Platform
  • ProductFactory™
  • PolicyCore®
  • Rating, Taxes, and Commissions
  • ClaimCore®
  • Integrations
  • Billing Overview
  • Installment Balances
  • Invoices, Debt Processing, and Back Office
  • Transaction Processing
  • Hands-on Design Solution Exercises

Participating in this bootcamp will give you direct access to cases and practical experience in technologies EIS uses on a daily basis—or intends to adopt in the future. While attending, you will also have the opportunity to collaborate with other certification candidates and network with EIS architects.

Step 4: Readiness Exam

After completing the bootcamp, your next step is to complete the readiness exam. This is a comprehensive online assessment and is comprised of topics relating to the prerequisite skills, training, and content covered during the EIS Suite Architect Bootcamp.

Step 5: Hands-on Tasks

Beginning after the Bootcamp and Readiness Exam, candidates will be assigned tasks to prove competency in various aspects of Suite. During this period, candidates will have access to an experienced senior architect. With regularly scheduled mentoring sessions, senior architects can provide guidance with current assignments, design tasks, and implementation alternatives. The duration of this period is 1-3 months. Actual time may vary depending on the candidate.

Step 6: Certification

To finalize the process, each candidate will submit design samples as outlined at the end of the architect bootcamp. These designs will then be reviewed and assessed by a senior EIS Architect based on a predefined matrix of design standards criteria.

After all program components have been successfully completed, the candidate will be awarded the EIS Suite Architect Certification1.

1Please note that Version 20 certification will be a separate program.

Fall 2020 Architect Certification Program

Enrollment Deadline: November 6
Entry Exam Deadline: November 13
Virtual Bootcamp: November 30 – December 11

Note that only dates for Enrollment, Entry Exam, and Virtual Bootcamp are definitive. Once participants complete Virtual Bootcamp, the exact duration for achieving certification can and may vary based on participant availability and/or skill level. A few examples of potential timelines are outlined below.



The EIS digital insurance platform is designed to help insurers innovate and operate like a tech company: fast, simple, agile.

Speed is of the essence in today’s world. Become faster at everything you do.


Get to Success Soon

With a global talent pool, a proven implementation methodology, agile delivery principles, and cloud-native technology, EIS can help you go live faster and get to success sooner.

Our Partners combine technical knowledge with industry expertise to deliver superior service and measurable results.


Build Fast. Deliver Agile. Maintain Simple.

EIS’ cloud-native SaaS architecture enables your teams to focus on business innovation, delivering value to customers, and creating the future of insurance.

Take full advantage of the cloud. Innovate and operate like a tech company.


Architect Certification

Our training and education offerings help insurers and partners achieve exceptional results faster.

EIS University

EIS University offers role-based learning, on-demand courses, and certification programs for all user types.

Learn More


Digital Insurance Solutions

Built on a cloud-native architecture, our platform for high-velocity insurance frees you to become the insurer you want to be.

Speed is at the core of who we are. Become the insurer you want to be.


Group and Voluntary Benefits

Go digital. Streamline operations, create rich customer experiences across channels, and build a modern benefits business.

P&C and General

Start fresh without legacy constraints. Quickly launch new products, customer experiences, business models, and ecosystems. 

Life and Annuities

Build personalized protection products and customer experiences on a platform that’s ready for whatever comes next.


Build Fast. Deliver Agile. Maintain Simple.

EIS’ cloud-native SaaS architecture enables your teams to focus on business innovation, delivering value to customers, and creating the future of insurance.

Take full advantage of the cloud. Innovate and operate like a tech company.


About Us

EIS enables many of the world’s leading insurers to innovate and operate like a tech company: fast, simple, agile.

Leadership Team

Our success is the result of our commitment to knowledge, education, experience, and leadership ability. Meet the team.



EIS has customers worldwide that range in size and complexity—from large multi-line, multi-nationals to regional single-line carriers.

Reimagine insurance with EIS.


Press Releases

Check back frequently for the latest news about our company, products, customers, sales, go-lives, and events.

News Articles

EIS is disrupting the insurance industry. See what the media is saying about our company, products, customers, sales, go-lives, and events.

Learn More



Hear what our subject matter experts have to say on insurance, technology, trends, and opportunities at these upcoming insurance industry events.

Connect with us on LinkedIn to stay up-to-date on the latest at EIS.